I just finished Chaos Walking and it was ruddy awesome! Prepare yourself for a very long review.


Chaos Walking Trilogy by Patrick Ness

My Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥ (5/5)

photo (20)

Todd Hewitt is the only boy in a town of men. Ever since the settlers were infected with the Noise germ, Todd can hear everything the men think, and they hear everything he thinks. Todd is just a month away from becoming a man, but in the midst of the cacophony, he knows that the town is hiding something from him – something so awful Todd is forced to flee with only his dog, whose simple, loyal voice he hears too. With hostile men from the town in pursuit, the two stumble upon a strange and eerily silent creature: a girl. Who is she? Why wasn’t she killed by the germ like all the females on New World? Propelled by Todd’s gritty narration, readers are in for a white-knuckle journey in which a boy on the cusp of manhood must unlearn everything he knows in order to figure out who he truly is! 

As I’m left after reading most amazing books, I am yet again left speechless and dumbfounded. And yet again I have no idea where to start.

I’m going to share my thoughts on the overall plot and characters of this trilogy and then what I liked about each book as an individual. I hope then I have done this trilogy justice and I’m able to convey to you how great it truly is…

The Plot

Chaos Walking is a truly amazing trilogy and not at all what I expected. When I first heard of it, I thought it would be an extreme Sci-Fi but I was surprised by a thrilling dystopian apocalyptic adventure instead. From the very first page, I was completely hooked.

(It’s taken me 3 weeks to read the trilogy and I’m sleep deprived of how many nights I’ve stayed up to read it.)

I absolutely love how Patrick Ness has created so many metaphors for life and weaved them throughout the entire trilogy. It’s pure genius. It’s the thing that makes it so thrilling it makes it so relatable that it’s like your reading about something so real. That’s why I found myself so tied up in the world of Chaos Walking. Every time I put it down, anxiety would encapsulate my heart and I just couldn’t bear it. I couldn’t bear not knowing what was going to happen. It’s just a brilliant thrilling feeling.

Another thing I absolutely loved about this trilogy was the romance (or you could say the not so much romance) We need more of this kind of thing in YA I think. It reminded me of this quote –

“I have become sceptical of the unwritten rule that just because a girl and a boy appear in the same feature, a romance must ensue. Rather I want to portray a slightly different relationship, one where the two mutually inspire each other to live – if I’m able to, then perhaps I’ll be closer to portraying a true expression of love.” – Hayao Miyazaki

The two main characters, they genuinely cared for each other, so much it became their will to live. It was they’re life line, they needed each other to survive. It was beautiful. And because of how it was written, you feel more strongly for them, you route for them even more. For me, when there are characters like this, with their subtle romances – it feels more romantic. This isn’t even a romance but yet their feelings for each other strive throughout the trilogy and I absolutely loved it!

The Characters

The heart and the soul of a story. Patrick Ness must be so connected to Chaos Walking. The development for characters in this book was deep and intense. They felt so real, so relatable. All their flaws and decisions, so human. I felt like I had made friends when I read this. The characters are so likeable (loveable).

I felt raw emotions, throughout the trilogy, for the characters. Hope, sadness and for some pure hatred.
I’m in love with how Patrick Ness got me to feel certain ways towards certain characters, and then he was in control of me, playing with my emotions right until the end. It was heart-breaking and amazing but utterly thrilling.

I am the circle and the circle is me

Book 1 – The Knife of Never Letting Go

When I first started the trilogy I just couldn’t get past the first chapter. I kept picking it up and then putting it back down. That was because I just couldn’t get my head around the way it was written. Patrick Ness narrates the trilogy in the voice of the characters (another thing that makes it so easy to connect with them) and Todd our amazing main character talks in a way that’s “unique” I guess. He was never given a proper education and talks in a slang way and that’s how it’s written too. At first it’s hard to get used to but honestly, when you get past it and get lost in the plot you realise it’s really what makes the story. It wouldn’t be the same without it. So you have to read it with an open mind, ok!

Apart from that, I loved how the first book was all hope and thrilling plot twists – and that cliff hanging end…

Note – make sure you read all books at once in case of death from anxiety! These cliff hangers are serious things people!

We are the choices we make

Book 2 – The Ask And The Answer

This is where everything starts to get crazy. You see, Patrick Ness does this thing that I learned how to do in a writing club. It’s how to keep readers hooked! To put it simply you take your characters and put them in a bad situation, and then you make it worse, and then you make it worse, and even worse, and worse and then you either conclude it or resolve it. Chaos Walking is literally that from start to finish… Digging this hole deeper and deeper until you lose all sign of hope that they will ever climb out!

War makes monsters of men

Book 3 – Monsters of Men

What I loved about this book was how it was the apocalyptic finale. Normally at this point, I would have given up all hope in a book that has this much suspense. But no matter how much I wanted to put it down, I couldn’t. I had come so far with all the characters, I just could t let them go. And I was routeing for them, hoping and wishing…and what an ending I was given!

The Noise is a man unfiltered and without a filter a man is just Chaos Walking

And I went on a bit there…I ran out of things to say. That’s what I wanted to do though – I wanted to vent out all my emotions that have been bottled up. I feel better now.

Have you read this trilogy? What were your thoughts, I would love to know!

Hannah ♥

~ The World is Quiet Here ~

