Gemina by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

My Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥ (5/5)


gemina

Moving to a space station at the edge of the galaxy was always going to be the death of Hanna’s social life. Nobody said it might actually get her killed.

Hanna is the captain’s pampered daughter. Nik is the reluctant member of a notorious crime family. While the pair are struggling with the realities of life aboard the Jump Station Heimdall, little do they know that Kady Grant and the Hypatia are headed right towards them carrying news of the Kerenza invasion.

Hanna and Nik are thrown together to defend their home. But alien predators are picking off the station residents one by one, and a malfunction in the station’s wormhole means the space-time continuum might be ripped in two before dinner. Soon Hanna and Nik aren’t just fighting for their own survival; the fate of everyone on the Hypatia – and possibly the known universe – is in their hands.

But relax. They’ve totally got this. They hope.

Before I start reviewing, I would just like to say, I’m bursting with unexplainable love for this book. I want to scream and shout to the world how fantastic it is but I can’t because this would be un-postable if I let my tongue rampage. So bear with me and my attempts at explaining the amazing phenomenon that is this book!

The system surges.

Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff are extremely talented and clever people. I am humbled by their awesomeness. The entire plot of ‘The Illuminae Files’ is so deep and intense, you almost feel like you will drown if you lose control of yourself. The world (or rather the universe), the characters, the technology, the transportation, the lifestyle, the politics, everything in these books, down to the finest of details, is so refined, that it is literally impossible to find fault with it. It’s so unique and enthralling, and truly a brilliant idea.

The giant awakens.

I thoroughly enjoyed reading Gemina. At first, when we’re thrown straight into the plot with the first set of files, I was a bit overwhelmed. Trying to keep up with the new characters and all the action while remembering the previous book and how it all links together. It doesn’t take away from the book though because once I was caught up in the action, it didn’t matter. I was completely mesmerised and read the majority of the book in one day.

Components intersect in twin shears of star-bright light.

I loved how this book, although still told through many types of files, like Illuminae, kind of has it’s own twist on things. We not only have records of radio conversation transcripts, text messages, emails and security camera footage but we had a look into personal character lives like through Hanna’s illustrated journal which, by the way, was beautifully illustrated by Marie Lu who I think deserves extreme credit for her wonderful contribution to Gemina. I really loved Hanna’s journal, it reminded me of what kind of character I would be, I felt like I had a connection with her. Hey, we share the same (kind of) name.

The intergers. The matter.

The last thing I want to discuss is how amazingly the authors had control over the storyline. The situations would go from bad, to really messed up, and then even worse. It would keep getting more unfortunate as the plot moved on, digging the hole deeper and deeper, and you carry on reading, turn every page rapidly in confusion, asking yourself, How are they going to get themselves out if this entangled dilemma? But Amie and Jay know exactly what they’re doing and everything fits seamlessly together.

The failures. The boy.

The thing that I think gets people to fall in love with Illuminae & Gemina is the fact that it’s written like it’s real. It feels real. It is real. It literally is telling you what happened, there is no story telling. And that’s why it feels so amazing when you read it. There are no cliches because it’s real life, there are no “surviving in unrealistic circumstances” because it’s completely realistic. And that, my dear readers, is why I love ‘The Illuminae Files’ and why you should go and read it too.

Hold your breath. Listen

Hannah♥

~ the World is Quiet Here ~

