So if you’re wondering why I haven’t been reviewing books much, it’s because I was reading this!


The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern 

My rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ (5/5)

the night circus cover 3

The circus arrives without warning.

No announcements precede it…

It is simply there, when yesterday it was not.

Wow. Wow. Wow. That is literally all I can say about this book. You know after you read a book and you immediately make the decision that it is now your favourite book of all time – well although I’d say that, I hope that this time is different. I honestly think ‘The Night Circus’ will be my favourite book for a very long time and if not, then definitely forever.

When it is your turn, you pull back the fabric and step forward, only to be engulfed by darkness as the curtain closes again.

I’ve been wanting to read this for so long and as soon as I opened the first page I was completely hooked. This book is like all my dark fantasies and dreams, combined together, extremely refined and put into a brilliant novel. It was perfection. Everything and more that I expected of it. I literally cannot put into words how much I loved it.

The tunnel twists and turns, the tiny lights providing the only illumination. You have no way of discerning how far you have gone or which direction you are moving in.

The story is so enthralling, so much imagination and amazing inventions laced throughout with that amazing burst of magic and illusion. It really felt like you were part of the circus family, the characters were so relatable and you grow to love all of them individually. You celebrate when they prosper and cry when they’re upset, you feel their burning anger and they’re bursting passions pulse inside of you.

Finally you reach another curtain. Fabric that feels as soft as velvet beneath your hands parts easily when you touch it.

I found myself completely captivated, and I was drawn back to the book, again and again, like a fly to honey. Every night I anticipated bedtime so I could read ‘The Night Circus’ so I could be whisked off to this extravagant exhibition of talent and melt into its perfect world. I was exploring the circus with the characters, living and breathing alongside them. It’s put me in this dreamy mood and I hope it lingers for a long time!

The light on the otherside is blinding.

So, please go read this book if you love circuses, darkness, magic and vibrant characters that fit into an enthralling yet mysterious story that will drown you into its inky depths.


Hannah ♥

Have you read this? What did you think?

~The World is Quiet Here ~

 

