I saw this a while ago but never got round to reviewing it, so here it is now.


Fantastic Beasts And Where To Find Them (2016)

Director: David Yates

My Rating: *****

Fantastic_Beasts_and_Where_to_Find_Them_poster.png

 

I’m going to admit that I haven’t actually read any of the Harry Potter books or watched any the films (yet). So I have no inside knowledge of J.K Rowling’s magical worlds. I have no clue about anything. So I was a bit nervous about seeing this film because I was afraid I wouldn’t understand it. But I went along with some friends and despite my lack of knowledge, I completely enjoyed every second.

The film follows the journey of Newt Scamander (Eddie Redmayne), an eccentric, introverted wizard and magizoologist who cares for magic creatures. He arrives in New York, with a magical suitcase full of creatures, on his way to Arizona, but finds himself caught up in the struggle between the wizarding world and witch-hunters.

fantastic-beasts
Porpetina “Tina” Goldstein (Katherine Waterstone) is a former Auror, employed by the Magical Congress of the United States of America (MACUSA). She arrests Newt for being an unregistered wizard and takes him to MACUSA in hopes of regaining her job.

I absolutely loved this film. I thought the acting was brilliant, everything was so realistic and believable. I think Eddie Redmayne played his character extremely well, his expressions were so convincing throughout the entire film. My favourite character, though, was Tina, I loved her personality. She was calm and cool – I’m not sure if this is what she is like in the book – and I loved the outfits she wore in the film too. The main cast were a very relatable and friendly group.

Fantastic-Beasts Cast.jpg

The cinematography and computer graphics were incredible. The atmosphere in every scene felt like I had been transported into the cinema screen. The action was happening around you and it felt like you were there with them. Also, the creatures were very well animated – they were so life like. Although I don’t like films that have ugly looking creatures in them, I didn’t mind them at all in this film.

fantastic-beasts-street

So overall, I think I’ll give this film a generous five stars because I enjoyed every second of it and feel encouraged to go read the Harry Potter books. I definitely recommend this to anyone who loves the magical/supernatural genre or if you like dark storylines, regardless whether you’ve read the book or the Harry Potter series, you will enjoy this film!


Hannah ♥

~The World is Quiet Here~

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

