The Thing About Jellyfish by Ali Benjamin

My rating: ♥♥♥♥ (4/5)


I picked this book up from the library shelf when I was looking for a unique read. Something that was different. Something that wasn’t predictable. When I read the summary, it was immediately stuffed into my bag and taken home.

Suzy stopped talking after she found out that her ex-best friend drowned. Dealing with her emotions is hard when you give up talking. She retreats into silence, finding it hard to accept that Franny’s death was just an accident. It can’t have been, she was a great swimmer after all. But when she learns about the deadly nature of a jellyfish, on a school trip to the Aquarium, she is bent on proving that it was this creature that took her best friend away from her.

I really love this book. Ali Benjamin’s style of writing is definitely unique and the story gave so much more than what I expected. It’s a profound and deep novel about loss and grief but also tackles issues about finding yourself in a world where you don’t fit in. Judging by the fact that it is also packed with facts about jellyfish throughout the entire book, which will appeal to younger readers, it’s definitely a read nearly anyone can enjoy.

The only reason I didn’t give it 5 stars was because it’s not the kind of book that keeps you turning pages until the end. It’s not mysterious or thrilling (which are my favourite kind of books) but a calm, simple read. Perfect for quiet afternoons when you’ve got nothing to do, but saying this, I actually finished it pretty quickly.

Overall, I really like this book, it definitely delivered when I asked for a unique book. It’s probably the best book I’ve read in a while. If you’re looking for something unique and different, something that tells a heartwarming tale of friendship, love and loss but is also embedded with a deep message. This is the book you need to read.

“A jellyfish, if you watch it long enough, begins to look like a heart beating.”

The first line from…

The Thing About Jellyfish

Hannah♥

~ The World is Quiet Here ~

